Mammuts, Römer und Ritter

Antiquity and medieval history in the
museum on the Rhine

Relics from the Ice Age

The Rhine has preserved souvenirs from early history in its own special way. Whilst quarrying for sand and gravel, workmen found the large bones of ice-age animals such as the mammoth, the primeval horse and the aurochs or primeval ox. The museum has a large number of these finds.

Celts and Legionnaires

Oberwesel developed from a Roman military post. The Celtic settlement of Vosovia was situated on the military road which connected the legionary camps at Mainz and Cologne. The Roman military kept a staging post and hostel here for official couriers and merchants. Finds from Roman graves, which are on display at the museum, testify to the cultivated lifestyle of the Romans.

A Medieval Boom-Town

Oberwesel’s heyday came in the 13th century when it was declared a Free Imperial Town. The great town wall with its many towers still bears witness to the town’s former significance. With the help of modern, audio-visual technology, visitors can go on a “virtual tour of the town” and learn lots of interesting facts about the town’s medieval attractions (in German or English).

The Jingle of Coins

The coinage muddle was particularly bad along the Middle Rhine on account of the large number of small territories there. So in 1385 the four Rhenish electoral princes founded the Rhenish Coinage Union and introduced the Rhenish Florin as common currency. The Electors of Trier also had the Rhenish Gold Florin struck at Oberwesel and today you can admire some well preserved specimens in the museum.

Knights and Mr. Rhinelander

The Schönburg is one of the oldest and largest hilltop castles on the Middle Rhine. It was known as a Ganerbenburg (“castle of joint heirs”) where several noble families lived together under one roof. The castle was completely destroyed by French troops in 1689 during the Palatine War of Succession. In 1885 T.J. Oakley Rhinelander, a real estate broker from New York, started rebuilding the Schönburg. Many original documents and photos illustrate the fascinating story of Rhinelander’s reconstruction work.

Mammuts, Römer und Ritter

Antike und Mittelalter im Museum am Rhein

Relikte der Eiszeit

Der Rhein bewahrt auf eigene Weise die Erinnerung an die Frühgeschichte. Beim Abbau von Sand und Kies fand man große Knochen von Tieren aus der Eiszeit, wie etwa vom Mammut, vom Urpferd oder vom Auerochsen. Das Museum besitzt eine große Zahl solcher Funde.

Kelten und Legionäre

Oberwesel entstand aus einer römischen Militärstation. An der Heerstraße zwischen den Legionslagern in Mainz und Köln lag die keltische Siedlung Vosovia. Dort unterhielt das Militär eine Pferdewechselstation und eine Herberge für Kuriere und Kaufleute. Funde aus römischen Gräbern, die im Museum ausgestellt sind, zeugen von der feinen Lebensart der Römer.

Boom im Mittelalter

Die Blütezeit der Stadt war im 13. Jahrhundert, als Oberwesel Freie Reichsstadt wurde. Die große Stadtmauer mit ihren vielen Türmen kündet noch heute von ihrer einstigen Bedeutung. Mit Hilfe moderner Medientechnik kann der Besucher einen „virtuellen Stadtrundgang“ machen und viel Wissenswertes über die mittelalterlichen Sehenswürdigkeiten der Stadt erfahren (wahlweise in Deutsch oder Englisch).

Mit klingender Münze

Wegen der vielen kleinen Territorien war am Mittelrhein der Münzwirrwarr besonders groß. Die vier rheinischen Kurfürsten gründeten darum 1385 den Rheinischen Münzverein und schufen den Rheinischen Gulden als einheitliche Währung. Die Kurfürsten von Trier ließen auch in Oberwesel den Rheinischen Goldgulden schlagen. Heute sind gut erhaltene Exemplare im Museum zu bewundern.

Ritter und Rhinelander

Eine der ältesten und größten Höhenburgen am Mittelrhein ist die Schönburg. Sie war eine so genannte Ganerbenburg, auf der mehrere Ritterfamilien gleichzeitig lebten. Im Pfälzer Erbfolgekrieg zerstörten französische Truppen 1689 die Burg vollkommen. Der Wiederaufbau begann 1885 durch den New Yorker Immobilienmakler T. J. Oakley Rhinelander. Viele Originaldokumente und Fotos belegen die spannende Geschichte der Rekonstruktion durch Rhinelander.